Google My Business Post Insights: Just How Insightful Are They?

Google just recently introduced Insights particularly for the efficiency of Google My Business Posts, however how precise are they? Prior to you begin weeping about bad Post efficiency, have a look at this analysis by factor Ben Fisher, who likewise has some wonderful workarounds for getting the most precise Post efficiency information.

Google My Business Posts are a wonderful method of utilizing the property Google offers you and your customers in search. I’ve talked about how you can produce Google My Busines Posts that will assist you win more organisation, however when they at first presented to all services it was a little bit tough to learn how your efforts were equating into outcomes.

Surprise! It’s still hard to see if your efforts are being rewarded, however Google has actually taken a (extremely) little action towards providing you presence in a more aggregated view. No more including things up by hand!

On August 6th, 2018, Google My Business revealed the addition of aggregated Google My Business Posts Insights.

Here was the statement from Google My Business:

Post Insights assist you much better comprehend how your posts carry out with possible consumers. From the Posts tab, you can see insights for:

.A private post.All posts from the recently.All posts from the last month.

How it works

Post Insights reveals your views, clicks, and the portion modification in the rolling duration. The rolling duration is the last 7 or 28 days and can have a hold-up of approximately 3 days. Your summary is discovered on the Posts tab of your web control panel. To figure out why you might have a modification in views, you can see more insights on specific posts.

If any of the following happens, your portions won’’ t program in the summary:

.Your posts got no views. (Okay, Duh!).You wear’’ t have any posts.( Another DUH!). Your portion modification is over 99.99%. (Interesting?).How are GMB Post impressions taped?

From exactly what we can inform, a Post impression is signed up when a Post is totally shown on the screen on mobile or desktop. Exactly what I imply by this is it’s not signed up when the Posts area is, state, showed on the Knowledge Panel however when the user really clicks the Post itself or scrolls through previous Posts.

This makes some sense, however it does not reveal you the worth of a visual impression when a user sees your Knowledge Panel. It does reveal that a user has the intent of looking at your Post. This need to offer you a lot more reward to compose an engaging heading for your posts!

.How do the impressions of GMB Posts line up with impressions in GMB Insights?

Below is a side-by-side view of Google My Business Posts Insights and just the Direct look for a realty customer. If they just see the posts on the Knowledge Panel, this image shows that Google is not counting the impressions of a user.

 Side by side insights direct posts

.How are GMB Post clicks tape-recorded?

Google reports on click the call-to-action button. I believe this makes overall sense, however just like all information that Google supplies, we have actually seen that there is a variation in the information Google reveals us in reports within GMB and the information we see in Google Analytics.

To take a look at how bad the information variation truly is, we just have to search in a couple of locations.

 GMB Post Insights vs GA

The above image demonstrates how Google My Business Posts Insights are carrying out versus exactly what we see in Google Analytics. As you can see, GMB Post Insights reveals a massive ZERO clicks the CTA, while Google Analytics reveals 20 overall sessions (14 which are distinct).

 Google Short Link

When we take a look at the statistics reported through the Goo.gl reduced URL, we see an associating 20 clicks, so the concern is ‘‘ Why does Google choose that 20 is insufficient information?’ That is 7.11% CTR on GMB Posts… … definitely not a bad CTR for a chiropractic doctor!

.What can you do about the variation in information?

As a firm, we are held responsible for our actions and need to show our worth to our customers. They require it and we must have the ability to offer some evidence that the strategies we use provide some concrete advantages.

Yet the information we are offered by Google Insights constantly appears to be off, as Gyi Tsakalakis has actually mentioned prior to . We have no idea precisely how things are counted internally and the numbers have actually been shown to be lower than exactly what they in fact are.

At finest, the information from GMB Post Insights can be an overview of reveal if your Posts are on-point or not. At least we can get some insight as to exactly what the real outcomes are if we utilize tracking URLs and call-tracking numbers.

Moreover, when utilizing a UTM tracking string for Google Analytics you will have the ability to see historic information, which is presently not offered in GMB Post Insights.

Pro Tip: Use the utm_term alternative on each post. I utilize the format of Date_PostType (e.g. utm_term= 9-8-18_BackPain_Call)

.For each Post type, here are some concepts on the best ways to track the outcomes:.Posts, Events, Product Posts.Book: Track in your reservation system and utilize UTM strings.Order Online: Track in your e-commerce system and utilize UTM strings.Purchase: Track in your e-commerce system and utilize UTM strings.Discover more: Use UTM strings.Register: Track in your e-commerce/email system and utilize UTM strings.Call Now: Use a customized tracking number simply for Posts.Deal Posts.Voucher Code: Educate customers on keeping an eye on this code for walk-ins and track through e-commerce systems.Connect To Redeem Offer: Track in your e-commerce/Email system and utilize UTM strings.Conclusion.

So there you have it! GMB Posts Insights still draw, however a minimum of we have something to referral as a pattern.

GMB has actually been making enhancements at a fast speed this year and will continue to do so, so I forecast we can just anticipate that the information will improve and ideally more precise with time.

What have you observed? Show me in the remarks your numbers and any variations in between Google reports that you’ve seen. I’ll then reveal this to Google and perhaps… … simply perhaps … we will improve information.

Ben Fisher is a Google My Business Top Contributor, and a skilled veteran in SEO and social considering that 1994. He’’ s the co-founder of Steady Demand which deals with services and firms to optimize outsourced Local SEO and Social Media. He can be reached on Twitter at @TheSocialDude or @SteadyDemand .

The post Google My Business Post Insights: Just How Insightful Are They? appeared initially on BrightLocal .

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Website Visitor Segmentation: The Conversion Strategy You’re Not Using

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How specified is your e-commerce conversion funnel?

If your not growing sales, you have to peek into one (or more) of your funnel levels.

You may have a respectable understanding of the basic marketing circulation: acquisition, support, conversion…… however exactly what strategies are you utilizing at each level to make sure you’’ ve constructed the highest-performing funnel possible?

A standard e-commerce visitor division method can rapidly enhance your conversion funnel and supplies a terrific starting point for optimization throughout your website.

Whether you’’ re brand-new to segmenting or you currently have a number of client sectors specified, let’’ s begin by taking a look at the top of your funnel to show precisely how division can increase your earnings.

.Lead Capture &&Customer Acquisition: Top of Funnel (TOFU).

Filling the leading part of your funnel is exactly what we call lead capture or client acquisition, AKA when site visitors opt-in to your e-mail list.

You have all kinds of traffic pertaining to your e-commerce website: natural, social, paid – – and within those groups there are various consumer personalities (perfect consumers, not-ideal consumers, high-intent, no interest, and so on).

We suggest our customers get and attempt 5% of their overall traffic to opt-in.

Here at Justuno our primary suggestion to every e-commerce website to assist them accomplish that 5% standard is to establish a brand-new visitor pop-up.

 Screenshot of example email capture

This is the bare minimum of exactly what has to be live on your website today. If you wear’’ t have actually something established to catch brand-new gos to, striking that 5% mark is never ever going to take place.

Capturing brand-new visitors enables you to obtain your feet damp with division and is reasonably simple to establish and comprehend.

Once you catch brand-new visitors, you can target them with an automated New Visitor Welcome e-mail project (more on that listed below) which’’ s the begin to a targeted marketing project.

.

With this kind of deal, you’’ ll be up-and-running in no time!

But to be truly wise about it and get going with division early, you must set this provide with a couple of particular targeting guidelines to level-up your division from the very start.

.Be Better Than Average.

You can quickly collect more info on individuals opting-in to your deal than you might believe.

Setting up advanced targeting guidelines can assist you notify your marketing projects by informing you: who is choosing in and where on your website they’’ re doing so.

Let’’ s take a look at a couple of examples of sophisticated targeting guidelines you can utilize to assist level-up your division technique:

.IP address.Geo-location.Existing URL (that the user engaged with the promotion on).Particular deal opted-in (special voucher code).

Once you have this details, you’’ ll have a more effective understanding of the visitors who are deciding in. You’’ ll understand 2 things:

They are a brand-new visitor AND they:

.Lie in [x] area.Opted-in on [x] page.Utilized [x] voucher code.

Knowing this details, you can shift into sending out e-mails that are personally appropriate inning accordance with the information you simply gathered.

These are simply a couple of examples of how you can utilize targeting guidelines plus a deal to section. There are TONS more examples of projects that you can develop for your e-mail marketing. To see an extensive list check out this article.

.Sending Out Relevant Emails: Middle of Funnel (MOFU).

Now that you understand something about individuals who’’ ve opted-in on your website, you can funnel them to the very best section or list inside your e-mail provider (ESP).

Why is this crucial? Simply have a look at these statistics:

.Segmented and targeted e-mails produce 58% of all profits Email has an ROI of $41 for every single dollar invested compared with $12.71 for Social Media and $22.24 for paid search.

These statistics are considerable due to the fact that not just is e-mail the most individual channel for marketing, however providing an appropriate, targeted e-mail in such a way loads an effective conversion punch.

Using among the targeting guidelines from above, i.e. if you understand the page where the visitor opted-in, you can utilize that details to notify which list they’’ re put on and exactly what the material of your e-mail marketing project must be.

For example, if your site visitor engages with or opts-in to your New Visitor deal on your guys’’ s t-shirts item classification page, you can send them to a Welcome Campaign supplemented with your guys’’ s t-shirts finest sellers at the bottom.

See how including a single customized element can power up your e-mail marketing efforts?

This can assist press your visitors from MOFU to BOFU.

.Time to Convert: Bottom of Funnel (BOFU).

Now that we’ve clarified how middle of the funnel division can work, let’’ s check out how that MOFU marketing affects the users who have a high intent to purchase (BOFU).

Let’’ s keep keeping up the example from above:

.You established a New Visitor deal (ex: Free Shipping on very first order when you register!).A user opted-in to your deal on the guys’’ s t-shirts classification page.You send out a Welcome email with your very popular males’’ st-shirts. Now exactly what takes place when they click through to your website?

This is where the majority of you are missing out on the last action in developing a funnel that transforms – – your on-site experience.

This last action is the most essential, yet most ignored.

Your on-site experience is where the user will make their purchase choice! Don’’ t waste your effort in producing a deal and customized e-mail project, just to funnel them to a website experience that’’ s NOT enhanced for conversion!

What can assist enhance your website?

.Send them to an appropriate page or material.Mirror your e-mail messaging on-site so the user benefits from your deal (Your totally free shipping deal from above).

Once your user clicks through from among your males’’ s t-shirts suggestions, undoubtedly the ideal location for the visitor would be that item’’ s page.

.

But, if they put on ’ t see their Free Shipping deal on this PDP, they might lose their inspiration to purchase.

By matching the e-mail message on-site, your user is most likely to remain concentrated on exactly what you desire them to do: BUY.

Here’’ s an example of a wise e-mail to website messaging setup:

.

 Screenshot of example e-mail &&desktop messaging

Another example of a typical promo in the BOFU is an exit promo. When a client has actually included products to their cart and is showing habits that suggests they are about to leave your website, this is. This deal will yield instant outcomes by including and closing sales earnings that otherwise might have been lost. You’’ re capturing these visitors at a crucial point, completely timing a deal to assist get them to the goal instead of closing the window.

Just like your brand-new visitor project, you can send your exit promos to a particular list inside your ESP.

They tried to desert their cart AND they:

.Lie in [x] area.Engaged on [x] page.Displayed [x] habits.

If you desire specific methods on WHAT e-mail marketing projects to establish when to send out these e-mails view this replay of our current webinar.

Read more: feedproxy.google.com

A Week In New York City On A $134,000 Salary

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Want even more Money Diaries, plus $$$ advice from a kick-ass, all-female team of financial advisors, and tips on how to save more than $500? Pick up our new book: Money Diaries!Order here!

Today: a senior data analyst working in fintech who makes $134,000 per year and spends some of her money this week on Stumptown coffee.

Occupation: Senior Data AnalystIndustry: FintechAge: 28Location: New York, NYSalary: $134,000Paycheck Amount (2x/month): ~$2,850

Monthly ExpensesRent: $2,350 (I live in a one-bedroom apartment by myself.)Student Loan Payments: $0 (I paid off my student loans two years ago.)401(k): ~$1,600 (I’m on track to hit my max contribution of $18,500 for the year.)Health Insurance PPO: $46Internet: $29.99Electricity: ~$30-60ClassPass: $45Gym: My company pays for my membership.Netflix: $10.99Hulu: $11.99 (I’m canceling it this month.)Cell Phone: $0 (I’m still on my parents’ plan.)Savings: I have a a high-interest savings account ($25,000), 401(k) Roth and Traditional ($56,000), Vanguard Funds ($52,000), and crypto (~$10,000)

Day One

6:30 a.m. — I usually wake up sometime between 6:30 and 7 in the morning to kick off my morning routine. I oil pull while I turn on the kettle, make my bed, and do my hair and makeup. I don’t have any early meetings this morning, so I decide to take my time and make breakfast for myself even though my company provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I make eggs and toast and warm up leftover potatoes from last night’s dinner. Then I sip on my cup of chai, look through work emails, and walk to the office at around 9.

10:30 a.m. — I prep for an onsite interview and make another cup of tea from the office pantry. During the interview, the candidate is obviously nervous, so I try my best to get her to relax and just work through the problem. She’s incredibly bright and has a great résumé, but is very soft-spoken and reserved, and I worry that the rest of the all-male interview slate won’t respond well to her. At the end of the interview, I give her that feedback and tell her to try and speak up a bit and be more confident when delivering her answers, which she appreciated.

12 p.m. — Lunchtime! It’s Dos Toros today, which means I hustle to the kitchen when lunch is announced on Slack before they run out of guac. As someone who was born and raised in California, I am very much a burrito snob. I have yet to find anything as good as the burritos in SF, but I commend Dos Toros for attempting to bring Mission-style burritos to New York. I load up on guac and sit down at the tables with my coworkers. My calendar is stacked for the rest of the day with meetings and a call.

5:30 p.m. — Dinner arrives at work. It’s Chinese food tonight, and I’m not really feeling it, so I skip and make chicken noodle soup instead. Even though it’s super hot and humid in NY right now, it’s sort of dark and gloomy, so I just want to stay inside and be cozy. I stop by the Fairway on my walk home and pick up some things (ice cream, chicken breasts, egg noodles, carrots, onion, garlic, celery, thyme, basil, and bay leaves). I recently cleaned out my cupboard and threw out all my stale spices, so I had to restock on them. I throw everything into a big pot and let it simmer while I eat my way through the pint of ice cream and watch the new season of Orange Is the New Black. After dinner, I take a quick shower, and I’m in bed by 11. $36.50

Daily Total: $36.50

Day Two

7 a.m. — Snooze a bit this morning and then stay in bed while scrolling through Instagram. Finally get out of bed, start my morning routine, and I’m out the door by 8:30. I get to work before 9 (very early for my office, since most people show up after 10), so I get first dibs on bagels this morning. I eat half a bagel, make a cup of tea, and head to my desk to get work done.

12 p.m. — Lunch today is Mediterranean. Not my favorite, but I make a plate and decide to eat at my desk because I need to book my flights t0 Burning Man. I’ve been going for the past seven years and wasn’t planning on going this year, but a ticket found its way to me and I had so much FOMO at the thought of not going. I end up getting a great deal on midweek flights with JetBlue, so I book them and start putting together a list of all the things I need to do to prepare for a week in the desert. $269.20

3:30 p.m. — I make a point of trying to get to know the new people in my organization. A woman fresh out of college is visiting from the west coast office, so we grab a cup of coffee. I share my experience with her about working at the company and things I wish I’d known when I was fresh out of school. Working in a male-dominated space is intimidating, and it took years for me to get comfortable learning how to navigate this environment. I still find myself struggling with imposter syndrome, but I’m much more aware of it now and able to talk myself out of it most of the time. ($10.26 expensed)

6 p.m. — Dinner at the office tonight is Ethiopian. I’m a big fan, and top my injera with loads of lentils and veggies — yum!! A few of us end up working from the kitchen tables and opening up wine. Late night office drinking sessions are always an interesting experience. I have more wine then I should and end up bailing on going to the gym. I head home at around 9 p.m. and sneak in another two episodes of OITNB before calling it a night.

Daily Total: $269.20

Day Three

6:30 a.m. — My workout schedule basically revolves around my hair-washing schedule. I figure I might as well get a good sweat in before I have to wash it. I head over to the gym where I do 30 minutes of a strength training class on Aaptiv and then head over to the treadmill for 20 minutes of HIIT. I feel better that I got a sweat in and then go back home to shower. I try to do No Meeting Wednesdays so I have an open calendar today, and decide to head over to Stumptown for coffee and do some work in the Ace Hotel lobby before going to the office. I arrive at work just in time for sandwich day for lunch. $4

4 p.m. — I’m not able to concentrate, so I leave work early. I drop off my things and then head over to Bed Bath & Beyond. (I’m basically Abbi from Broad City when I’m at BB&B.) I need new wine glasses, and get a set of four with my 20% off coupon ($33.09). Then I hit up TJ Maxx and get a new cutting board ($16.30). I feel good about these purchases and can’t wait to put them to use. I listen to an episode of Caliphate on my walk home and then warm up more of the chicken noodle soup I made. $49.39

9 p.m. — I’ve been in New York for a little over a year now and haven’t really found a close group of friends to do things with. It’s weird how when you’re younger it’s so easy to meet people, but in your late 20s, everyone starts pairing off. I had such a strong community of people when I lived in SF, and moving out here has been a lonely experience. I’ve been on and off the dating apps, but can’t get myself to put in the energy required to meet people on them. I drink wine, re-download Bumble, and buy a week of Premium so I can see who has already swiped on me. I spend 20 minutes on it before I decide I hate it and go to bed. $8.99

Daily Total: $62.38

Day Four

6 a.m. — I have a call with a client in Europe, so I head into work early. Even though I live walking distance from the office, I take the subway because it’s really humid this morning. As I’m going down the stairs, the train is at the station and I see that the next train is 12 minutes behind, so I book it through the emergency exit, hoping to get on the train. This is the first time I’ve ever done this and then, of course, I get tapped on the shoulder by an undercover cop. FUCK. I get a fare evasion ticket for $100. I sit there sweating in the hot subway station for 12 minutes as he writes up three other people and me. I realize I made the decision to skip the fare, so I quietly accept the ticket and pay it from my phone right then and there. $100

8:30 a.m. — I take the experience from this morning as a sign that I need to slow down a bit. I make myself a cup of tea and then go into a conference room where I listen to a 15-minute meditation on my Calm app and recalibrate myself. I reflect on how the situation was just an inconvenience for me, but for others, a $100 fine might have a huge impact on their budget. I recognize how fortunate I am to be in this position, and feel my first generation guilt kicking in when I realize my success is all due to how much parents sacrificed for me. I send them a message saying I miss them.

12:30 p.m. — Lunch today is Thai food. I sit next to a candidate who is interviewing for an engineering role, and we end up chatting a bit since we have the same alma mater and are both going to Burning Man! We exchange Burning Man camp details and invite each other to camp events. I might have felt sparks there, or maybe it was just the pad kee mao.

3:30 p.m. — I have a one-on-one with my manager’s manager, who is basically a robot. Our next review cycle is coming up, and I’ve made it very clear that I’m expecting a promotion this cycle. As a backup, I’ve begun to start making a list of companies to start applying to this weekend. I’m not necessarily over my current company, I’m just a little bored, and figure it’s good to see what my current market rate is and if my company is willing to keep up.

5 p.m. — Dinner at work is Dosas. I’m Indian, so I’m critical of anything that isn’t my mom’s cooking, but I make myself a plate. I scroll through my Instagram feed at the table and see that Rupi Kaur is having a show in NYC. I saw her once years ago before she blew up and have loved seeing her become so successful. I buy a ticket to her show ($64.50). Then I head back to my desk, put my headphones on, and jam through the work that needs to get done this week. It’s a late night, and I don’t get home until 10. $64.50

Daily Total: $164.50

Day Five

6 a.m. — With this humidity, my hair can use another wash. I take advantage of my flexible work schedule to go to off-peak hours on ClassPass for less points. I book a 10 a.m. class at Mile High Run Club and work from home until then. It’s a great class and I feel pumped afterwards. I get ready for work at the studio and head into the office. Someone on another team chats me to see if I’m available for a “quick sync to get on the same page.” Business jargon makes me nauseous.

12 p.m. — Lunch today is burgers with sad soggy fries. I make myself a veggie burger and have to run to join a call with the west coast team. Afterwards, I run over to Dough to pick up donuts for the team ($22.50 expensed). It’s Friday, so the office usually clears out pretty early, but I’m making a ton of progress on my project, and I work best when other people aren’t around. At around 7, I leave and pick up noodles from Koreatown. $9.74

10 p.m. — It’s Friday, and I’m alone in my apartment. As much as I love my space and could never live with roommates again, I do miss having company sometimes. It’s strange to think about how there are millions of people in this city, and yet I still can feel so alone. I clean up and then put on another episode of OITNB.

Daily Total: $9.74

Day Six

8 a.m. — I get up and make myself eggs and toast. I book a yoga class at Y7 through ClassPass and walk there while listening to another episode of Caliphate.

10 a.m. — The class was good! As someone who spent five years doing Ashtanga yoga, Y7 is not a yoga studio I would consider making my go-to studio for serious yoga practice, but it’s a fun class that makes you sweat. I get home and jump in the shower while I boil some water for pasta.

12:30 p.m. — I head over to Gregory’s Coffee to start putting together a list of companies I want to target. When I open up my résumé, I see that it needs serious work. I consider hiring a professional to help and start searching for people online to see what the going rate it. Most of the people with positive reviews are a few hundred dollars, so I decide to take a stab at a first draft and see how I feel about it. I end up spending more time searching for Burning Man gear than I do updating my résumé. $5.60

3 p.m. — I run a few errands — drop off a package, grab a book from the library, return a top from Lululemon (-$68), and return a skirt from Madewell (-$88). Then I end up at my favorite store, Anthropologie. I grab a few cute items to try on from the sales rack, but a full price jumpsuit catches my eye, and I have to try it on. The jumpsuit is perfect, and I’m obsessed. I’m hesitant to pay full price ($182.91), but I think I let myself splurge on things like this to feel better about not having much of a social life. $182.91

6 p.m. — I have a head of kale in my fridge that’s about to go bad, so I make a salad out of it and warm up chicken strips to put on top. It’s surprisingly good. Then I move onto a glass of wine and OITNB. I grab the book I got from the library, The Three-Body Problem, and spend a few hours on my couch engrossed by it.

Daily Total: $188.51

Day Seven

10 a.m. — I meet up with my coworker and his girlfriend for brunch at a nearby restaurant and we spend three hours catching up. They also moved from SF, so we’re able to connect over that. The conversation turns to politics and how we got to where we are. Sigh. $27

2 p.m. — Staying in Friday and Saturday made me feel pretty bad about myself, and feelings of depression are creeping up on me. I decide to head to the gym to try and counter it. I listen to a class on Aaptiv and then go through yoga sequences. I feel better about myself afterwards and stop to get a juice on my walk home. $8

4 p.m. — I hop onto my laptop and try to work on my résumé more. I end up getting pulled into work emails and then I binge the rest of OITNB. I’m heartbroken at how Blanca’s storyline ends. I end my week with a 30-minute meditation before going to bed.

Daily Total: $35

Money Diaries are meant to reflect individual women’s experiences and do not necessarily reflect Refinery29’s point of view. Refinery29 in no way encourages illegal activity or harmful behavior.

The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend — to try on your own, check out our guide to managing your money every day. For more money diaries, click here.

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The Ultimate Protection for the Samsung Galaxy Note 9

Under the Dome, is Life.

It is time, the wait is over. The Samsung Galaxy Note 9 has just been unpacked, but if you missed the live stream in New York you don’t need to be left out. The phone officially goes on sale in two weeks, so once you get yours, you need to decide what protection is best for you. Well, Whitestone has the answer, and it is DOME GLASS. Whitestone Dome Glass is a specialized brand for the entire high-end market of cellular bezel-less devices, like the Samsung Galaxy Note 9.

In today’s world, everyone wants smartphones that are thinner and lighter, but still want to watch videos and play games on the biggest possible screens. Therefore, edge phones and bezel-less phones are leading the way. They make use of limited screen size and maximize it to its fullest extent. The Note 9 is no different. It has increased the screen size to 6.4 inches (up from 6.3″) and slimmed the screen bezel.

With the larger screen and slimmer bezel, it is that much more important to protect every inch. Whitestone provides the first true “full-screen adhesive” tempered glass screen protector for curved bezel-less phones. They do this by using their patented LOCA technology which stands for ‘Liquid Optical Clear Adhesive’. LOCA is a liquid glass which evenly disperses over the entire screen, including repairing existing scratches and scuffs and sets to create a watertight edge to edge protection. Their revolutionary liquid glass adhesive forms around the curved screen to create a single, solid layer of anti-shatter glass. Thus, giving you (and your new Note 9) complete security.

Use Coupon code THRIFT30 for 30% off Note 9 Dome Glass
Use Coupon code THRIFT30 for 30% off Note 9 Dome Case

Now, Whitestone Dome Glass is not cheap, but nor should it be. It was created for high-end model smartphones. Whitestone is the only tempered glass screen protector recognized by SMAPP (Samsung Mobile Accessory Partnership Program) and as such is the best option for your Note 9. The other plastic or urethane protectors have no true protection, are vulnerable to scratches, and even can reduce transparency. Also, most other well-known brands of tempered glass protectors only cover the flat side of your device and falsely advertises themselves as a full-cover tempered glass. They attempt to trick you by using a black cover adhesive along the side to hide lifts, or they cover the areas between glass and screen with dots which makes the device prone to touchscreen errors. But that’s not the case with Dome Glass. Get your Note 9 the security it deserves. Why invest in the top of the line phone and settle for second-rate protection?

Why invest in the top of the line phone and settle for second-rate protection? Get your Note 9 the security it deserves.

The one major difficulty with this screen protector is because it really works so well, you only get one shot at putting it on, so you need to do it right. It’s not hard, but you can’t rush through it. Quality is reflected through commitment, so make sure you have enough time and patience to get an undeniably perfect result.

To prevent errors and air bubbles, an install frame and UV curing light are included. If you just want to throw on a screen protector in a minute before you walk out the door, then this is not the one for you. But, if you follow the simple installation steps, you will get the best shielding available. For help with installation, here is a link to some of their reviews and tutorial videos that show you step-by-step how to do a proper installation.

On top of the comprehensive 3D glass curved surface protection and liquid dispersion technology, it also provides protection against Blue Light. As more and more people are so reliant on their cell phone, it has become even more important to identify the harmful side effects. One of the negative effects of smartphones is the emitting of shorter wavelengths called Blue Light. Studies suggest that, over time, exposure to blue light (especially at night), can cause insomnia or even more serious long-term damage to your eyes. Whitestone Dome Glass decreases the strength of blue light by up to 25%, protecting you and your smart device!

Dome Glass, which is already a top seller on Amazon Worldwide and AT&T and is touted as one of the best-tempered glass protectors by NTT Docomo (the largest cellular provider in Japan) has the maximum strength and scratch resistance rating of 9H (hardness measurement) provides full touch and total edge to edge coverage without any gaps or bubbles and does not fade or fog with extended use.

To top it all off, every Whitestone Dome Glass product comes with a Limited Lifetime Warranty which means that if your Dome Glass is damaged or worn, you could request a replacement through Whitestone’s webpage. Also, for a limited time, our very own Android Central readers can use the code ANDROIDCENTRAL to save 30% off Whitestone Dome Glass for their Samsung Galaxy Note 9. Just click here to order today and for their web page and more information on these screen protectors visit whitestonedome.com. Whitestone Dome Glass protector is #1 in protecting your entire screen and is an essential accessory for any new Note 9 owner. So, with the Samsung Galaxy being unpacked today, it is only right to get it the protection it deserves.

Don’t forget to use coupon code THRIFT30 to save 30% off the Note 9 Dome Glass 2 pack and Note 9 Dome Case on Amazon for a limited time!

Use Coupon code THRIFT30 for 30% off Note 9 Dome Glass
Use Coupon code THRIFT30 for 30% off Note 9 Dome Case

Read more: androidcentral.com

The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know

Here on the HubSpot blog, we’ve written glossary-themed posts that cover some of the core components of inbound marketing. We’ve covered social media terms, content marketing termssmarketing termsemail marketing terms, website optimization terms … heck, even marketing acronyms.

Discover a framework for running more impactful, measurable marketing  campaigns.

Well, we thought it was time to create a blog post that could serve as a holistic marketing glossary — one that not only defines each term, but also offers some helpful resources in case you want to learn about them in more depth. We hope you can bookmark this post and come back to it whenever you need to.

Now, I’m no math whiz, but when you try to make a glossary based on a topic with sub-categories that could be their own glossaries, well — that’s a lot of gloss. So instead of throwing hundreds of terms at you from all those other glossaries, I narrowed this one down to the top 99 terms that are imperative to anyone learning about marketing. 

Marketing Terms to Know

A/B Testing
Analytics
Application Programming Interface (API)
B2B (Business-to-Business)
B2C (Business-to-Consumer)
Blogging
Business Blogging

A
1. A/B Testing

This is the process of comparing two variations of a single variable to determine which performs best in order to help improve marketing efforts. This is often done in email marketing (with variations in the subject line or copy), calls-to-action (variations in colors or verbiage), and landing pages (variations in content). Outside of marketing, you can use it to determine what tastes better on a peanut butter sandwich: jelly or fluff. (Learn how to run A/B tests here.)

2. Analytics

What I sometimes refer to as the “eyes” of inbound marketing, analytics is essentially the discovery and communication of meaningful patterns in data. When referred to in the context of marketing, it’s looking at the data of one’s initiatives (website visitor reports, social, PPC, etc.), analyzing the trends, and developing actionable insights to make better informed marketing decisions. (Want to learn marketing analytics? Here a list of nine great sources to get you started.)

3. Application Programming Interface (API)

APIs are a series of rules in computer programming, which allow an application to extract information from a service and use that information either in their own application or in data analyses. It’s kind of like a phone for applications to have conversations — an API literally “calls” one application and gets information to bring to you to use in your software. APIs facilitate the data needed to provide solutions to customer problems.

HubSpot has APIs that developers use to get information from our software into theirs. It’s important for marketers to understand what APIs can do to factor them in to their marketing strategies. Learn more about how marketers can use APIs here.

B
4. B2B (Business-to-Business)

An adjective used to describe companies that sell to other businesses. For example, Google and Oracle are primarily B2B companies.

5. B2C (Business-to-Consumer)

An adjective used to describe companies that sell directly to consumers. For example, Amazon, Apple, and Nike are primarily B2C companies.

6. Blogging

This is short for web log or weblog. An individual or group of people usually maintains a blog. A personal blog or business blog will traditionally include regular entries of commentary, descriptions of events, or other material, such as photos and video.

Blogging is a core component of inbound marketing, as it can accomplish several initiatives simultaneously — like website traffic growth, thought leadership, and lead generation. It does not, however, do your taxes.

7. Business Blogging

Business blogging retains all the attributes of “regular” blogging, but adds a tasty layer of marketing strategy on top. It helps marketers drive traffic to their website, convert that traffic into leads, establish authority on certain topics, and drive long-term results. (Learn about these benefits in more detail here.)

When blogging for a business, marketers should create posts that are optimized with keywords that their target audience is searching for and provide helpful, educational material to these readers. Typically, these blog posts should be actionable (by providing an opt-in, downloadable offer), as to provide a metric for the effectiveness of the business blogging.

8. Bottom of the Funnel

Since we’re going alphabetically, the last part of the funnel process is first! So, “bottoms up,” I suppose. The bottom of the funnel refers to a stage of the buying process leads reach when they’re just about to close as new customers. They’ve identified a problem, have shopped around for possible solutions, and are very close to buying.

Typically, next steps for leads at this stage are a call from a sales rep, a demo, or a free consultation — depending on what type of business is attempting to close the lead.

9. Bounce Rate

Website bounce rate: The percentage of people who land on a page on your website and then leave without clicking on anything else or navigating to any other pages on your site. A high bounce rate generally leads to poor conversion rates because no one is staying on your site long enough to read your content or convert on a landing page (or for any other conversion event).

Email bounce rate: The rate at which an email was unable to be delivered to a recipient’s inbox. A high bounce rate generally means your lists are out-of-date or purchased, or they include many invalid email addresses. In email, not all bounces are bad, so it’s important to distinguish between hard and soft bounces before taking an email address off your list. (Learn about hard and soft bounces here.)

10. Buyer Persona

A semi-fictional representation of your ideal customer based on market research and real data about your existing customers. While it helps marketers like you define their target audience, it can also help sales reps qualify leads. (Learn more about developing buyer personas here.)

C
11. Call-to-Action

A call-to-action is a text link, button, image, or some type of web link that encourages a website visitor to visit a landing page and become of lead. Some examples of CTAs are “Subscribe Now” or “Download the Whitepaper Today.” These are important for marketers because they’re the “bait” that entices a website visitor to eventually become a lead. So, you can imagine that it’s important to convey a very enticing, valuable offer on a call-to-action to better foster visitor-to-lead conversion. (Download our free, introductory guide to effective calls-to-action here. Hey, that was a CTA!)

12. CAN-SPAM

CAN-SPAM stands for “Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing.” It’s a U.S. law passed in 2003 that establishes the rules for commercial email and commercial messages, it gives recipients the right to have a business stop emailing them, and outlines the penalties incurred for those who violate the law. For example, CAN-SPAM is the reason businesses are required to have an “unsubscribe” option at the bottom of every email. (Learn more of the details here.)

13. CASL

CASL stands for “Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation.” It’s a Canadian law passed in 2013 that covers the sending of “commercial electronic messages” that may be accessed by a computer in Canada. CASL covers email, texts, instant messages, and automated cell phone messages sent to computers and phones in Canada. (Learn more of the details here.)

14. Churn Rate

A metric that measures how many customers you retain and at what value. To calculate churn rate, take the number of customers you lost during a certain time frame, and divide that by the total number of customers you had at the very beginning of that time frame. (Don’t include any new sales from that time frame.)

For example, if a company had 500 customers at the beginning of October and only 450 customers at the end of October (discounting any customers that were closed in October), their customer churn rate would be: (500-450)/500 = 50/500 = 10%.

Churn rate is a significant metric primarily for recurring revenue companies. Regardless of your monthly revenue, if your average customer does not stick around long enough for you to at least break even on your customer acquisition costs, you’re in trouble.

15. Clickthrough Rate (CTR)

The percentage of your audience that advances (or clicks through) from one part of your website to the next step of your marketing campaign. As a mathematic equation, it’s the total number of clicks that your page or CTA receives divided by the number of opportunities that people had to click (ex: number of pageviews, emails sent, and so on).

16. Closed-Loop Marketing

The practice of closed-loop marketing is being able to execute, track and show how marketing efforts have impacted bottom-line business growth. An example would be tracking a website visitor as they become a lead to the very last touch point when they close as a customer.

When done correctly, you’d be able to see just how much of your marketing investment yielded new business growth. One of the biggest business benefits of implementing an inbound marketing strategy and utilizing inbound marketing software is the ability to execute closed-loop marketing.

17. Conversion Path

A conversion path is a series of website-based events that facilitate lead capture. In its most basic form, a conversion path will consist of a call-to-action (typically a button that describes an offer) that leads to a landing page with a lead capture form, which redirects to a thank you page where a content offer resides. In exchange for his or her contact information, a website visitor obtains a content offer to better help them through the buying process. If you’re still having difficulty grasping the topic based on this description, feel free to absorb it as a rabbit hunting analogy in comic form.

18. Content

In relation to inbound marketing, content is a piece of information that exists for the purpose of being digested (not literally), engaged with, and shared. Content typically comes in the form of a blog, video, social media post, photo, slideshow, or podcast, although there are plenty of over types out there. From website traffic to lead conversion to customer marketing, content plays an indispensable role in a successful inbound marketing strategy.

19. Content Management System (CMS)

A web application designed to make it easy for non-technical users to create, edit, and manage a website. Helps users with content editing and more “behind-the-scenes” work like making content searchable and indexable, automatically generating navigation elements, keeping track of users and permissions, and more.

(At HubSpot, we think COS is better than CMS. Find out why.)

20. Content Optimization System (COS)

A COS is basically a CMS (Content Management System), but optimized to deliver customers the most personalized web experience possible. (Learn more about HubSpot’s COS here.)

21. Context

If content is king, then context is queen. Serving up valuable content is important, but ensuring that it’s customized for the right audience is equally (if not more) important. As buyers become more in control of what information they digest (again, not literally), it’s important to deliver content that’s contextually relevant. If you own a restaurant, you wouldn’t want to send a coupon for a steak dinner to a vegetarian, right? Unless you’re anti-herbivore, of course …

22. Conversion Rate

The percentage of people who completed a desired action on a single web page, such as filling out a form. Pages with high conversion rates are performing well, while pages with low conversion rates are performing poorly.

23. Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)

The process of improving your site conversion using design techniques, key optimization principles, and testing. It involves creating an experience for your website visitors that will convert them into customers. CRO is most often applied to web page or landing page optimization, but it can also be applied to social media, CTAs, and other parts of your marketing. (Learn more here.)

24. Cost-per-Lead (CPL)

The amount it costs your marketing organization to acquire a lead. This factors heavily into CAC (customer acquisition cost), and is a metric marketers should keep a keen eye on.

25. Crowdsourced Content

Creating your own content can take more time than you have to lend to it — which is where crowdsourcing comes into play. Allowing subject matter experts, customers, or freelancers to create your content for you is a prime way to get more quality content published in less time. Compile the content you get back into a really awesome offer and give credit to all the contributors — a win-win for everyone involved. (Learn how to crowdsource a blog post using Google Docs here.)

26. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

Your total Sales and Marketing cost. To calculate CAC, follow these steps for a given time period (month, quarter, or year):

Add up program or advertising spend + salaries + commissions + bonuses + overhead.
Divide by the number of new customers in that time period.

For example, if you spend $500,000 on Sales and Marketing in a given month and added 50 customers that same month, then your CAC was $10,000 that month. (Learn more here.)

27. Customer Relationship Management (CRM)

A set of software programs that let companies keep track of everything they do with their existing and potential customers.

At the simplest level, CRM software lets you keep track of all the contact information for these customers. But CRM systems can do lots of other things, too, like tracking email, phone calls, faxes, and deals; sending personalized emails; scheduling appointments; and logging every instance of customer service and support. Some systems also incorporate feeds from social media such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and others. (Learn more here.)

28. CSS

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheets, and it’s what gives your entire website its style, like colors, fonts, and background images. It affects the mood and tone of a web page, making it an incredibly powerful tool. It’s also what allows websites to adapt to different screen sizes and device types. (Learn more about CSS, HTML, and JavaScript here.)

D
29. Dynamic Content

A way to display different messaging on your website based on the information you already know about the visitor. For example, you could use Smart CTAs so that first-time visitors will see a personalized CTA (perhaps with a top-of-the-funnel offer) and those already in your database see a different CTA (maybe for content that offers a little more information about your product or service). You can read this post to learn more about dynamic content.

E
30. Ebook

Ebooks are a common type of content that many marketers use, often to help generate leads. They are generally a more long-form content type than, say, blog posts, and go into in-depth detail on a subject. Here’s an awesome ebook on how to write an ebook (so meta).

31. Editorial Calendar

It’s like a road map for content creation, showing you what kind of content to create, what topics to cover, which personas to target, and how often to publish to best support your strategy. Maintaining an editorial calendar will keep you more organized and show you any gaps you may have in your content library. It also helps ensure you’re doing the right things for your personas and not going way off-track with the topics you’re covering. (Don’t have a proper calendar of your own yet? Check out this free, pre-designed editorial calendar template.)

32. Email

In its most basic sense, email stands for “Electronic Mail.” It’s a core component of marketing because it’s a direct connection to a contact’s inbox. However, with great power comes great responsibility, meaning it’s important for marketers to not abuse the email relationship with a contact. It’s far too easy for a contact to click “unsubscribe” after gaining their hard earned trust in your communication. Don’t blow it.

33. Engagement Rate

A popular social media metric used to describe the amount of interaction — Likes, shares, comments — a piece of content receives. Interactions like these tell you that your messages are resonating with your fans and followers. (Click here for engagement rate benchmarks for a range of different industries.)

34. Evergreen Content

Evergreen content is content that continues to provide value to readers no matter when they stumble upon it. In other words, it can be referenced long after it was originally published, and even then, it’s still valuable to the reader. This post on how to write blog posts serves as a prime example.

Typically, a piece of evergreen content is timeless, valuable, high quality, and canonical or definitive. These posts are typically a content marketer’s best friend because of the tremendous SEO value they provide. (Learn more about evergreen content and why it’s important here.)

F
35. Facebook

Facebook is a social network you’re likely quite familiar with already — but it has become so much more than just a platform to publish content and gain followers. You can now utilize the awesome targeting options available through Facebook advertising to find and attract brand new contacts to your website and get them to convert on your landing pages … but remember, you still need awesome content to do it.

While it’s a core component of any marketing strategy, it shouldn’t be the only component. Focusing entirely on Facebook (or any other large social channel, for that matter) will only give you a small piece of the inbound marketing pie. And it’s still piping hot, so be careful. (Download our free guide to using Facebook for business here.)

36. Form

The place your page visitors will supply information in exchange for your offer. It’s also how those visitors can convert into precious sales leads. As a best practice, only ask for information you need from your leads in order to effectively follow up with and/or qualify them. (Read this post to learn what you should and shouldn’t ask on your landing page forms.)

37. Friction

Any element of your website that is confusing, distracting, or causes stress for visitors, causing them to leave your page. Examples of friction-causing elements include dissonant colors, too much text, distracting website navigation menus, or landing page forms with too many fields. (Learn more about identifying and fixing friction here.)

G
38. Google+

Google+ (referred to as “Google Plus”) is a social network that allows you to join and create circles in which you can mix and match family members, friends, colleagues, and fellow industry members. While you can use it much like other social networks — to publish and share content, and generate new leads — it also provides content marketers with tremendous SEO value due to the rising importance of social sharing in search engine algorithms. (It is owned by Google, after all.)

H
39. Hashtag

Hashtags are a way for you and your readers to interact with each other on social media and have conversations about a particular piece of content. They tie public conversations on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram together into a single stream, which users can find by searching for a hashtag, clicking on one, or using a third-party monitoring tool like HubSpot’s Social Inbox.

The hashtags themselves are simply a keyword phrase, spelled out without spaces, with a pound sign (#) in front of it — like #InboundChat and #ChocolateLovers. You can put these hashtags anywhere in your social media posts. (Learn more about how to use hashtags on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram here.)

40. HTML

This is short for HyperText Markup Language, a language used to write web pages. It’s at the core of every web page, regardless the complexity of a site or number of technologies involved, and provides the basic structure of the site — which is then enhanced and modified by other technologies like CSS and JavaScript. (Download our free guide to HTML here to learn some simple and useful HTML coding hacks.)

I
41. Inbound Marketing

Inbound marketing refers to marketing activities that draw visitors in, rather than marketers having to go out to get prospects’ attention. It’s all about earning the attention of customers, making the company easy to find online, and drawing customers to the website by producing interesting, helpful content. By aligning the content you publish with your customer’s interests, you naturally attract inbound traffic that you can then convert, close, and delight over time. (Learn more about inbound marketing here.)

42. Inbound Link

An inbound link is a link coming from another site to your own website. “Inbound” is generally used by the person receiving the link. For example, here’s an inbound link to our co-founder Dharmesh’s blog. Dharmesh could say, “I received an inbound link from HubSpot.”

Websites that receive many inbound links can be more likely to rank higher in search engines. They also help folks receive referral traffic from other websites. (Learn more about inbound links here.)

43. Infographic

A highly visual piece of content that is very popular among digital marketers as a way of relaying complex concepts in a simple and visual way. (Learn more about how to create a knockout infographic here.)

44. Instagram

Though initially a haven only for younger generations who wanted to post, edit, and share unique-looking photos, Instagram has grown into a premier social network that’s a viable opportunity for content marketers. Many businesses are taking advantage of the site by posting industry related photos that their followers and customers would enjoy seeing. (Download our free guide on using Instagram for business here, or read this blog post for our favorite Instagram tips and tricks.)

J
45. JavaScript

Mix ¾ oz coffee liqueur with one shot espresso … nah, just kidding. JavaScript is a programming language that lets web developers design interactive sites. Most of the dynamic behavior you’ll see on a web page is thanks to JavaScript, which augments a browser’s default controls and behaviors.

Uses for JavaScript include pop-ups, slide-in calls-to-action, security password creation, check forms, interactive games, and special effects. It’s also used to build mobile apps and create server-based applications. (Learn more about JavaScript, HTML, and CSS here.)

K
46. Key Performance Indicator (KPI)

A type of performance measurement companies use to evaluate an employee’s or an activity’s success. Marketers look at KPIs to track progress toward marketing goals, and successful marketers constantly evaluate their performance against industry standard metrics. Examples of KPIs include CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost), blog traffic sources, and homepage views. Choose KPIs that represent how your marketing and business are performing. (Here are some tips for choosing the right KPIs for your business.)

47. Keyword

Sometimes referred to as “keyword phrases,” keywords are the topics that webpages get indexed for in search results by engines like Google, Yahoo, and Bing.

Picking keywords that you’ll optimize a webpage for is a two-part effort. First, you’ll want to ensure the keyword has significant search volume and is not too difficult to rank for. Then, you’ll want to ensure it aligns with your target audience

After deciding the appropriate keywords you want to rank for, you’ll then need to optimize the appropriate pages on your website using both on-page and off-page tactics. What are those, you ask? Skip to “O” to find out — but don’t tell “L”, “M”, or “N”! (Learn how to do keyword research for SEO here.)

L
48. Landing Page

A landing page is a website page containing a form that is used for lead generation. This page revolves around a marketing offer, such as an ebook or a webinar, and serves to capture visitor information in exchange for the valuable offer. Landing pages are the gatekeepers of the conversion path and are what separates a website visitor from becoming a lead.

A smart inbound marketer will create landing pages that appeal to different personae (plural for persona) at various stages of the buying process. A hefty endeavor no doubt, but one that pays off in spades. (Download this ebook to learn more about landing pages and how to optimize them.)

49. Lead

A person or company who’s shown interest in a product or service in some way, shape, or form. Perhaps they filled out a form, subscribed to a blog, or shared their contact information in exchange for a coupon. 

Generating leads is a critical part of a prospect’s journey to becoming a customer, and it falls in between the second and third stages of the larger inbound marketing methodology, which you can see below.

hubspot-inbound-methodology.png

Landing pages, forms, offers, and calls-to-action are just a few tools to help companies generate leads. (Learn more about lead generation here.)

50. Lead Nurturing

Sometimes referred to as “drip marketing,” lead nurturing is the practice of developing a series of communications (emails, social media messages, etc.) that seek to qualify a lead, keep it engaged, and gradually push it down the sales funnel. Inbound marketing is all about delivering valuable content to the right audience — and lead nurturing helps foster this by providing contextually relevant information to a lead during different stages of the buying lifecycle.

51. LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a business-oriented social networking site. Launched in May 2003, it is mainly used for professional networking. Nowadays, with more than 414 million registered members, LinkedIn is the most popular social network for professionals and one of the top social networks overall. Getting on the platform, developing a completed profile, and networking has helped many a jobseeker find work. (Click here to learn about using LinkedIn for professional networking, business, and marketing.)

52. Lifecycle Stages

These divisions serve as a way to describe the relationship you have with your audience, and can generally be broken down into three stages: awareness, evaluation, and purchase.

What’s important to understand about each of these stages is that not every piece of content you create is appropriate, depending on what stage your audience might fall in at that moment. That’s why dynamic content is so great — you can serve up content that’s appropriate for whatever stage that particular visitor is in. (Learn more about how to map content to lifecycle stages here.)

53. Lifetime Value (LTV)

A prediction of the net profit attributed to the entire future relationship with a customer. To calculate LTV, follow these steps for a given time period:

Take the revenue the customer paid you in that time period.
Subtract from that number the gross margin.
Divide by the estimated churn rate (aka cancellation rate) for that customer.

For example, if a customer pays you $100,000 per year where your gross margin on the revenue is 70%, and that customer type is predicted to cancel at 16% per year, then the customer’s LTV is $437,500. (Learn more here.)

54. Long-Tail Keyword

A long-tail keyword is a very targeted search phrase that contains three or more words. It often contains a head term, which is a more generic search term, plus one or two additional words that refine the search term. For example:

Head term: unicorn
Long-tail keywords: unicorn games online, unicorn costumes for kids, unicorn videos on YouTube

Long-tail keywords are more specific, which means visitors that land on your website from a long-tail search term are more qualified, and consequently, more likely to convert.

55. LTV:CAC

The ratio of lifetime value (LTV) to customer acquisition cost (CAC). Once you have the LTV and the CAC, compute the ratio of the two. If it costs you $100,000 to acquire a customer with an LTV of $437,500, then your LTV:CAC is 4.4 to 1. 

M
56. Marketing Automation

While there’s some overlap with the term “lead nurturing,” marketing automation is a bit different. Think of marketing automation as the platform with associated tools and analytics to develop a lead nurturing strategy. If you’ll let me run with an “art” analogy, marketing automation is the paintbrush, watercolors, and blank canvas. Lead nurturing is the artist that makes it all come together. Like Bob Ross! You can’t paint a happy little nurturing campaign without both.

Bonus: Want to get super-savvy with your marketing automation terminology? Take it to the next level with behavior-based marketing automation. Behavior-based marketing automation refers to a system that triggers emails and other communication based on user activity on and off your site. It enables marketers to nurture leads and send them information only when it is most relevant to their stage in the buying cycle.

57. Microsite

A cross between a landing page and a “regular” website. ElfYourself.com is a great example. Microsites are used when marketers want to create a different online experience for their audience separate from their main website. These sites often have their own domain names and distinct visual branding. (Here’s a list of 11 of the best microsite examples out there.)

58. Middle of the Funnel

This refers to the stage that a lead enters after identifying a problem. Now they’re looking to conduct further research to find a solution to the problem. Typical middle of the funnel offers include case studies or product brochures — essentially anything that brings your business into the equation as a solution to the problem the lead is looking to solve. Also, if you want to be cool, you can refer to this stage as “MOFU” for short.

59. Mobile Marketing

With mobile search queries officially surpassing desktop queries, now is probably the time to explore mobile marketing. What is it? Well, mobile marketing refers to the practice of optimizing marketing for mobile devices to provide visitors with time- and location- sensitive, personalized information for promoting goods, services, and ideas.

60. Mobile Optimization

Mobile optimization means designing and formatting your website so that it’s easy to read and navigate from a mobile device. This can be done by either creating a separate mobile website or incorporating responsive design in initial site layout. Google’s algorithm now rewards mobile-friendly websites, so if your site isn’t fully optimized for mobile devices, you will likely see a hit to your ranking on mobile searches. (Learn how to make your website mobile-friendly here.)

61. Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)

The amount of revenue a subscription-based business receives per month. Includes MRR gained by new accounts (net new), MRR gained from upsells (net positive), MRR lost from downsells (net negative), and MRR lost from cancellations (net loss).

N
62. Native Advertising

A type of online advertising that takes on the form and function of the platform it appears on. Its purpose is to make ads feel less like ads, and more like part of the conversation. That means it’s usually a piece of sponsored content that’s relative to the consumer experience, isn’t interruptive, and looks and feels similar to its editorial environment.

Native advertising can come in many forms, whether it’s radio announcers talking favorably about a product sponsoring the show, or an article about a product or company showing up in your news source. Here are examples of some of the best native advertising out there.

63. Net Promoter Score (NPS)

A customer satisfaction metric that measures, on a scale of 0-10, the degree to which people would recommend your company to others. The NPS is derived from a simple survey designed to help you determine how loyal your customers are to your business.

To calculate NPS, subtract the percentage of customers who would not recommend you (detractors, or 0-6) from the percent of customers who would (promoters, or 9-10).

Regularly determining your company’s NPS allows you to identify ways to improve your products and services so you can increase the loyalty of your customers. Learn more about how to use NPS surveys for marketing here.

64. News Feed

A news feed is an online feed full of news sources. On Facebook, the News Feed is the homepage of users’ accounts where they can see all the latest updates from their friends. (Learn all about Facebook’s News Feed here.) The news feed on Twitter is called Timeline.

65. No-Follow Link

A no-follow link is used when a website does not want to pass search engine authority to another webpage. It tells search engine crawlers not to follow or pass credit to linked websites as a way to avoid association with spammy content or inadvertently violating webmaster guidelines. To varying degrees, the no-follow attribute is recognized by all major search engines, like Google, Yahoo, and Bing. Not all links (and linking domains) are created equal, and a no-follow attribute helps avoid any foul play.

O
66. Offer

Offers are content assets that live behind a form on a landing page. Their primary purpose is to help marketers generate leads for your business. There are many different types of offers you could create, including ebooks, checklists, cheat sheets, webinars, demos, templates, and tools. (If you need help putting together some high-quality offers your buyer personas will love, take some time to read over this post.)

67. On-Page Optimization

This type of SEO is based solely on a webpage and the various elements within the HTML (see “H” if you skipped here directly). Ensuring that key pieces of the specific page (content, title tag, URL, and image tags) include the desired keyword will help a page rank for that particular phrase.

68. Off-Page Optimization

This is the free-spirited cousin of on-page optimization. Off-page SEO refers to incoming links and other outside factors that impact how a webpage is indexed in search results. Factors like linking domains and even social media play a role in off-page optimization. The good news is that it’s powerful; the not so good news is that it’s mostly out of an inbound marketer’s control. The solution? Create useful, remarkable content and chances are people will share and link to it.

P
69. Page View

A request to load a single web page on the internet. Marketers use them to analyze their website and to see if any change on the webpage results in more or fewer page views. 

70. Pay-per-Click (PPC)

The amount of money spent to get a digital advertisement clicked. Also an internet advertising model where advertisers pay a publisher (usually a search engine, social media site, or website owner) a certain amount of money every time their ad is clicked. For search engines, PPC ads display an advertisement when someone searches for a keyword that matches the advertiser’s keyword list, which they submit to the search engine ahead of time. 

PPC ads are used to direct traffic to the advertiser’s website, and PPC is used to assess the cost effectiveness and profitability of your paid advertising campaigns.

There are two ways to pay for PPC ads:

Flat rate: where the advertiser and publisher agree on a fixed amount that will be paid for each click. Typically this happens when publishers have a fixed rate for PPC in different areas on their website.
Bid-based: where the advertiser competes against other advertisers in an advertising network. In this case, each advertiser sets a maximum spend to pay for a given ad spot, so the ad will stop appearing on a given website once that amount of money is spent. It also means that the more people that click on your ad, the lower PPC you’ll pay and vice versa.

(Learn more about getting started with PPC here.)

71. Pinterest

Pinterest is a visual social network typically used by ecommerce marketers, but not without its fair share of top-notch B2B and B2C content marketers. Businesses and consumers alike use the website to post images and photos they like so fellow users can repin (share) that content.

Not every company has taken advantage of this site yet. If you’re one of them, we advise you check out this free guide to Pinterest for business.)

72. PPC

PPC, (or Pay-Per-Click) is an advertising technique in which an advertiser puts an ad in an advertising venue (like Google AdWords or Facebook), and pays that venue each time a visitor clicks on the ad. I couldn’t think of anything witty to place at the end of this definition, so let’s move on to “Q.”

Q
73. Qualified Lead

A contact that opted in to receive communication from your company, became educated about your product or service, and is interested in learning more. Marketing and Sales often have two different versions of qualified leads (MQLs for Marketing, and SQLs for Sales), so be sure to have conversations with your sales team to set expectations for the types of leads you plan to hand over.

74. QR Code

A QR code (abbreviated from Quick Response code) is a specific matrix barcode (or two-dimensional code) that is readable by dedicated QR barcode readers and camera telephones. The code consists of black modules arranged in a square pattern on a white background. The information encoded may be text, URL, or other data. It also starts with “Q,” which is a rarity with marketing-related terms. (Learn how to create a QR Code here.)

R
75. Responsive Design

This is the practice of developing a website that adapts accordingly to how someone is viewing it. Instead of building a separate, distinct website for each specific device it could be viewed on, the site recognizes the device that your visitor is using and automatically generates a page that is responsive to the device the content is being viewed on — making websites always appear optimized for screens of any dimension. (Learn how responsive design works here.)

76. Return on Investment (ROI)

A performance measure used to evaluate the efficiency and profitability of an investment, or to compare the efficiency and profitability of multiple investments. The formula for ROI is: (Gain from Investment minus Cost of Investment), all divided by (Cost of Investment). The result is expressed as a percentage or ratio. If ROI is negative, then that initiative is losing the company money. The calculation can vary depending on what you input for gains and costs.

Today, marketers want to measure the ROI on every tactic and channel they use. Many facets of marketing have pretty straightforward ROI calculations (like PPC), but others are more difficult (like content marketing).

77. Retweet

A re-posting of a tweet posted by another user on Twitter. Retweets look like normal tweets except for the retweet icon. They can be done in three ways:

1) You can retweet an entire tweet by clicking the retweet button, indicated below.

hubspot-retweet-hubspot-academy.png

2) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary. In a new tweet, which also features the original tweet. It means you’ve pressed the rotating arrow icon to retweet a post, and then added a comment in the text box provided. We prefer this method of retweeting because it allows you to add your own thoughts. (Note: The retweet takes up 24 characters, leaving you with 116 characters for the comment.)

mark-kilens-retweet-with-comment.png

3) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary in addition to the information you’re retweeting. The formula is this: Your own commentary + RT + the original tweeter’s Twitter handle + colon + the exact text from their original tweet. This method of retweeting allows you to add your own thoughts, but with a very limited character count.

noshonit-retweet.png

When you see “Please RT” in someone’s tweet, it means they are requesting that their followers retweet that tweet to spread awareness. (Learn more about retweets here.)

S
78. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The practice of enhancing where a webpage appears in search results. By adjusting a webpage’s on-page SEO elements and influencing off-page SEO factors, an inbound marketer can improve where a webpage appears in search engine results.

There are a ton of components to improving the SEO of your site pages. Search engines look for elements including title tags, keywords, image tags, internal link structure, and inbound links — and that’s just to name a few. Search engines also look at site structure and design, visitor behavior, and other external, off-site factors to determine how highly ranked your site should be in the search engine results pages. (Learn more about SEO here.)

79. Sender Score

An email marketing term that refers to a reputation rating from 0-100 for every outgoing mail server IP address. Mail servers will check your Sender Score before deciding what to do with your emails. A score of over 90 is good. (Learn more about sender score and email deliverability here.)

80. Service Level Agreement (SLA)

For marketers, an SLA is an agreement between a company’s sales and marketing teams that defines the expectations Sales has for Marketing and vice versa. The Marketing SLA defines expectations Sales has for Marketing with regards to lead quantity and lead quality, while the Sales SLA defines the expectations Marketing has for Sales on how deeply and frequently Sales will pursue each qualified lead.

SLAs exist to align sales and marketing. If the two departments are managed as separate silos, the system fails. For companies to achieve growth and become leaders in their industries, it is critical that these two groups be properly integrated. Learn how to create an SLA here.

81. Small-to-Medium Business (SMB)

Usually defined as companies that have between 10 and 500 employees.

82. Smarketing

A fun phrase used to refer to the practice of aligning Sales and Marketing efforts. In a perfect world, marketing would pass off tons of fully qualified leads to the sales team, who would then subsequently work every one of those leads enough times to close them 100% of the time. But since this isn’t always how the cookie crumbles, it’s important for Marketing and Sales to align efforts to impact the bottom line the best they can through coordinated communication. (Download our free guide to unifying your sales and marketing efforts here.)

83. Snapchat

A social app that allows users to send and receive time-sensitive photos and videos known as “snaps,” which are hidden from the recipients once the time limit expires. (Note: Images and videos still remain on the Snapchat server). Users can add text and drawings to their snaps and control the list of recipients in which they send them to.

A Snapchat story is a string of Snapchats that lasts for 24 hours. Users can create stories to be shared with all Snapchatters or just a customized group of recipients. (Learn more about how businesses are using Snapchat here.)

84. Social Media

Social media is media designed to be disseminated through social interaction, created using highly accessible and scalable publishing techniques. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn and Google+ are examples of social media networks that one can join for personal or business use. Social Media is a core component of Inbound, as it provides marketers with additional channels to spread reach, increase growth, and reach business goals.

85. Social Proof

Social proof refers to a psychological phenomenon in which people seek direction from those around them to determine how they are supposed to act or think in a given situation. It’s like when you see a really long line outside a nightclub and assume that club is really good because it’s in such high demand. In social media, social proof can be identified by the number of interactions a piece of content receives or the number of followers you have. The idea is that if others are sharing something or following someone, it must be good. (Learn some tips for adding social proof to your landing pages here.)

86. Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)

Any software that is hosted by another company, which stores your information in the cloud. Examples: HubSpot, Salesforce, IM clients, and project management applications. (Here are some examples of SaaS companies with exceptional marketing.)

T
87. Top of the Funnel

Sometimes called “TOFU”, top of the funnel refers to the very first stage of the buying process. Leads at this stage are just identifying a problem that they have and are looking for more information. As such, an inbound marketer will want to create helpful content that aids leads in identifying this problem and providing next steps toward a solution. TOFU is also very tasty in certain Thai dishes.

88. Twitter

For the sake of creativity, I’ll define Twitter in 140 characters or less: “Twitter is a platform that allows users to share 140-character long messages publicly. User can follow one another and be followed back.” There you have it — a tweetable definition of Twitter.

U
89. Unique Visitor

A person who visits a website more than once within a period of time. Marketers use this term in contrast with overall site visits to track the amount of traffic on their website. If only one person visits a webpage 30 times, then that web page has one UV and 30 total site visits.

90. URL

This is short for Uniform Resource Locator. I honestly didn’t know that before writing this definition. Basically, this is the address of a piece of information that can be found on the web such as a page, image, or document (ex. http://www.huspot.com). URLs are important for on-page SEO, as search engines scour the included text when mining for keywords. If a keyword you’re looking to get indexed for is in the URL, you’ll get brownie points from search engines (but no real brownies, unfortunately).

91. User Experience (UX)

The overall experience a customer has with a particular business, from their discovery and awareness of the brand all the way through their interaction, purchase, use, and even advocacy of that brand. To deliver an excellent customer experience, you have to think like a customer, or better, think about being the customer. Learn more here.

92. User Interface (UI)

A type of interface that allows users to control a software application or hardware device. A good user interface provides a user-friendly experience by allowing the user to interact with the software or hardware in an intuitive way. It includes a menu bar, toolbar, windows, buttons, and so on. Learn how to create a user-friendly website registration process here.

V
93. Viral Content

This term is used to describe a piece of content that has become wildly popular across the web through sharing. Oftentimes, folks don’t know a piece they’re creating will be viral until it actually does, which is usually unfortunate if it’s particularly embarrassing.

W
94. Website

A website is a set of interconnected webpages, usually including a homepage, generally located on the same server, and prepared and maintained as a collection of information by a person, group, or organization. An inbound marketer should structure a website like a dynamic, multi-dimensional entity that can be used to attract relevant website visitors, convert those visitors into leads, and close those leads into customers. Otherwise, it’s just a brochure — and let’s be honest — could you really use another brochure?

95. Word-of-Mouth (WOM)

The passing of information from person to person. Technically, the term refers to oral communication, but today it refers to online communication, as well. WOM marketing is inexpensive, but it takes work and involves leveraging many components of inbound marketing like product marketing, content marketing, and social media marketing. (Learn more about creating a powerful WOM marketing strategy here.)

96. Workflow

A workflow is another way to describe a lead nurturing campaign. It’s a set of triggers and events that move a lead through the nurturing process. A workflow can also serve other purposes, such as adjust contact properties on a lead record based on certain conditions, or adding a contact record to a certain list. Regardless of how you use it, workflows can be a very powerful asset in an inbound marketing strategy.

X
97. XML Sitemap

We couldn’t leave “X” out of the party! An XML sitemap is a file of code that lives on your web server and lists all of the relevant URLs that are in the structure of your website. It’s kind of like a “floor plan” for the site, which especially comes in handy whenever the site gets changed. It also helps search engine web crawlers determine the structure of the site so they can crawl it more intelligently.

Sitemaps don’t guarantee all links will be crawled, and being crawled does not guarantee indexing. However, a sitemap is still the best insurance for getting a search engine to learn about your entire site. It’s sort of like saying “Hey, Google — check out this fine website.” (Learn more about XML sitemaps and how to create one here.)

Y
98. YouTube

YouTube is a video-sharing website on which users can upload, share, and view videos. Three former PayPal employees created YouTube in February 2005. In November 2006, YouTube, LLC was bought by Google Inc. for $1.65 billion, and is now operated as a subsidiary of Google. YouTube is the largest video-sharing site in the world and you’re probably on it now instead of finishing up this post.

Z
99. Zilch

We couldn’t think of anything for “Z.” So I ask you dear readers: What inbound marketing related topic should we define that begins with the letter “Z”?

How to Run an Inbound Marketing Campaign

 
How to Run an Inbound Marketing Campaign

Read more: blog.hubspot.com

13 Affiliate Management Tips For Program Managers

Affiliate management isn’t an easy task. It’s not about having a ton of members in your affiliate marketing program that may or may not share your links. It’s not about having a popular influencer mention your product, which may or may not lead to conversions. It is all about developing the right relationships with the right types of affiliates.

That said, you don’t have to wait to hit a critical mass of customers to invest in affiliate marketing. In fact, with the decline of print and display ads, companies across many verticals have adjusted their online strategies to generate revenue through affiliate marketing.

Successful Affiliate Management Focuses On Relationships

affiliate management image 1

While building relationships with affiliates can be more work upfront, the partnerships created tend to be stronger, better for your business, and more authentic. Affiliate program managers that leverage relationship building strategies typically have more affiliates in their programs that are aligned with business objectives, and can communicate a brand’s story in a way that personifies that company’s mission and ideals.

It’s no surprise that by 2020, U.S. affiliate marketing spend is expected to rise to $6.8 billion. Which is why we are sharing our 13 best tips for affiliate program managers looking to drive business growth in the very near future.

1. Utilize a Portal Registration Page

A portal registration page allows you to collect additional information from your affiliates, such as their website or other useful details. Once they enroll via the registration form, affiliates can automatically be logged into the portal for easy sharing. Think of it as a “home base” for program members.

2. Auto-Enroll Affiliates

For relationships you’ve established with existing affiliates, auto-enroll them into your program to make participation turnkey.

3. Kickoff the Program

Don’t just hope that affiliates will find your program. Announce your program launch through dedicated emails to start seeing results quickly.

4. Build a Program Overview Landing Page

Provide affiliates with a comprehensive overview of the program on a landing page. For increased visibility, link to this overview landing page in the header or footer of your site.

5. Enable Share Codes

Allow affiliates to create multiple links that they can customize and redirect to point to specific products. Share codes, accessed through the portal, provide affiliates with an easy, memorable way to share while gaining additional insight into which sources and mediums convert best.

6. Post on Social Channels

Continuous social promotion of the program will help you enroll new affiliates and remind existing ones to share. Social media is also a great way to engage with influential affiliates that you want to join your program.

7. Provide Promotional Assets

Within the portal, you can provide affiliates with assets – such as banner ads, promotional offers, even content – that they can embed onto their blog or website. Once embedded, these assets are clickable and trackable.

8. Create an Educational Guide or Video

Send a toolkit with all of the details of your program to new affiliates in a welcome email as well as a link to your program overview landing page. Include information on what and where to share, how to utilize the portal, recommendations for seeing success, and more. This is also a great way to introduce yourself as the program manager and start building a personal relationship with your affiliates.

9. Send Dedicated Emails

Encourage engagement by providing useful program information in dedicated emails. These emails can offer suggestions for seeing success or even recommended content to share.

10. Write a Blog Post

This longer format content channel can be used to provide more detailed program information. You can then link to the post in social channels or dedicated emails for further promotion.

11. Utilize a Revenue Share

Most affiliate programs offer a commission that is a percentage of the total purchase. Monetary commissions, such as PayPal, are most successful.

12. Offer a Dual Incentive

Rewarding both the affiliate and the referee can provide a substantial lift. Coupon codes, which can be presented within a customizable welcome message upon landing on your site, are a great option for incentivizing the referee to convert.

13. Set up a Multi-Event Reward

Keep affiliates motivated during long purchase cycles by offering a reward for more than one event. For example, configure an initial commission of a lower amount for a new lead in your pipeline and a secondary commission of a higher amount when the new customer completes the sales cycle.

The Power of Affiliate Marketing Partnerships

affiliate management image 2

Using affiliate programs at all stages of the buyer journey – from discovery to ongoing customer engagement is the key to affiliate program management. Successful affiliate marketing managers understand the importance of developing long-term relationships with their program members. Once you establish authentic partnerships with members in your program that are aligned with business goals, you have the ability to grow your program with the right affiliates for your brand.

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20 of the most exciting under-the-radar retail startups to watch in 2018

The Insider Picks team writes about stuff we think you’ll like. Business Insider has affiliate partnerships, so we get a share of the revenue from your purchase.

daily harvestIt’s an exciting time to be a shopper.

Today, there are more options than ever for whatever you want to buy, be it a simple pair of underwear or a king-size mattress. A growing number of these options are offered not by the decades-old brands you see all the time at your neighborhood retailer, but by online-only companies that boast better quality products, more memorable personalities, and middlemen-free distribution methods (sorry, middlemen). 

Once a fledgling concept still finding its feet, direct-to-consumer retail has clearly proven that it’s here to stay. The names Everlane, Warby Parker, Bonobos, and Glossier now ring a bell for — if not incite passionate exclamations of love from — most people, so we’re surveying the retail startup scene in search of the next big success story.  

We’ve had our finger on the pulse of these 20 startups that are shaking up their industries and have great futures ahead of them. If you haven’t heard about them before, you’ll know to pay attention to their names in the future.

See the retail startups you should keep an eye on this year below.Daily Harvest: For putting a fresh smoothie in your hand in minutes
Daily Harvest/Instagram

Daily Harvest’s healthy smoothies, soups, parfaits, and sundaes arrive at your door in pre-portioned cups, ready to be blended and consumed in just a couple minutes. Eating healthy is not easy, partly because it takes so much time to shop and prepare food, but Daily Harvest makes it easy with its convenient, superfood-packed combinations. It recently launched a new latte line and we’re eagerly watching it to see what other creative recipes it comes up with. 

Read more about how Daily Harvest works here and our review of its Harvest Bowls and lattes here
Shop ready-to-blend drinks and meals at Daily Harvest here

 

Helix: For personalizing your sleep experience
Helix

Casper, Leesa, and Tuft & Needle are just a few popular direct-to-consumer mattress startups you’ve probably heard of. But Helix is different because it makes a custom mattress just for you based on your sleeping style and preferences. This personalization brings an unparalleled sleep experience, and if you’re still not happy after 100 nights, you can return the mattress. 

Read our review of Helix’s mattress here and pillow here
Customize your Helix mattress here

 

Allbirds: For using unique materials to make comfortable shoes
Allbirds

Sneakers made out of wool — and a sustainably-farmed merino wool at that — don’t sound like they would work or be very practical, but Allbirds is the innovative brand that pulls it off. It even recently figured out how to make shoes from eucalyptus pulp. The shoes are soft, comfortable, moisture-wicking, and temperature-regulating. And did we mention they’re machine-washable? They’re a favorite in Silicon Valley, but we wouldn’t be surprised if we saw more and more Allbirds taking to the streets very soon. 

Read our review of Allbirds’ Runners here, Loungers here, and new Tree collection here
Shop shoes at Allbirds here

See the rest of the story at Business Insider

See Also:

Most people probably haven’t heard of the FoundersCard — but its members have access to excellent VIP benefits and exclusive discountsWe teamed up with one of our favorite men’s dress shoe startups for an exclusive coupon — readers get 25% off any pairThe best swimming pools you can buy

Read more: feedproxy.google.com

HQ2 is making cities consider projects they’ve been ignoring for years — and it shows the power of Amazon

AmazonAP/Silvia Izquierdo

Amazon‘s search for its second quarters is having an outsized affect on cities.
The possibility of landing HQ2 has enticed cities to embark on or jump-start infrastructure projects they previously weren’t considering.
The fact that Amazon is the root shows how big an influence the company has on American cities.

To lure Amazon, it seems cities will do anything — even improve their infrastructure.

Cities are approving projects to try and beef up public transit, enrich education, and make housing more accessible, all make themselves more attractive to the tech giant.See the rest of the story at Business Insider

NOW WATCH: Learning to celebrate failure at a young age led to this billionaire’s success

See Also:

Amazon’s 10% discount for Prime members is now hitting all Whole Foods storesBed Bath & Beyond customers are starting not to care about the best reason to shop thereAmazon merged 2 of its most important teams, and it reflects a huge evolution for the company

SEE ALSO: Amazon Prime has invaded Whole Foods stores, but an important word is notably absent


Read more: feedproxy.google.com

Today’s the last day to save an extra 20% during Nike’s huge spring clearance sale — and more of today’s best deals from around the web

The Insider Picks group discusses things we believe you’ll like. Organisation Insider has affiliate collaborations, so we get a share of the income from your purchase.

Since you do not have throughout the day to search the web for notable sales and discount rates, we assembled the very best imagine you to go shopping in one practical location.

 Nike Nike Sportswear See the remainder of the story at Business Insider

See Also:

The finest flats for females Enroll in countless online courses for $9.99 on Udemy —– and more these days’s finest offers from around the web 17 reliable and low-cost skin care items under $25 we swear by in our daily lives

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Read more: feedproxy.google.com